Sprinting away my body fat

My new program is fantastic – I have to say that I absolutely love lifting weights. I feel strong and powerful. Plus who doesn’t like noticing that muscle is starting to look cut in your arms. Can’t help but check yourself out in the mirror! All that aside, its a a tough tough workout. I wanted to step it up and I definitely am – trying to get prepped for those looming pictures that are coming next week (Still haven’t gotten excited baring all for  you guys)

Heres the thing that  I’m struggling with, or rather trying to overcome – Sprints.

Anyone from my rugby team knows how much our Coach loves sprints. More specifically how beneficial they are for endurance and the sport. At the end of each workout I have 5-6 rounds of sprints. Doesn’t seem like that much, but every single round, i’m finding myself physically convincing myself to push through it. I haven’t given up yet, but man is it a tough mental battle.

If you spend even 10 mins researching the difference between sprinting and steady state cardio, you’ll soon find out how crazy awesome sprints are for you if your going through a fitness journey like I am. Kevin’s been trying to convince me of this for quite some time, and it’s finally sinking in. Funny how long it takes you to really understand how the body works.

My goals are to lower my body fat, and develop lean muscle – all to leading to get into the fittest, best shape of my life (just a tiny goal eh?)

Check it out – which one do you think I’d rather look like?

Now, I have no issues with long distance runners, or endurance/distance based work outs – its just not what I’m looking to achieve in my fitness goals. Sprinting is something I want to love, want to get better at – so I’m going to focus all my efforts and will to push through it. If It means I can look like the sprinter above why not!

For a full read through of why sprinting is fantastic, take a minute to read this article by T-Nation: Train like a man It’s helped inspire me to work harder at sprinting and make it one of my goals to achieve. My favourite part, and the part that made me want to step it up was this:

“If muscle growth, fat loss, and health are what you’re after, I argue that sprinting may be the key that no one’s using – because those thousand calories you’re burning when you jog aren’t nearly the same as when you burn them off at a sprint. Not even close.”

My legs currently feel like jelly and my arms are just as tired – the treadmill and rowing machine got the best of me. Time to conquer the sprints!!

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a comment